Top 5 Largest States in Nigeria by Land Mass


In Nigeria today, country is split into 6 geopolitical areas, that are North East, North Western world, North Central, South East, WEST and South South geopolitical areas, these geopolitical zones are further split into 36 states which make up the Federal government Republic of Nigeria.

Be educated that the most significant claims in Nigeria by Land mass are situated in north Nigeria where in fact the prominent people and culture there are the Hausa-Fulani people.

Remember, we will check out list the five states in Nigeria that are Largest in Land mass below.

1. Niger State

Niger State is the largest state by Land mass in Nigeria. It was created in 1976 when the old North-Western State was split into Niger State and Sokoto State respectively. Niger state is named after the River Niger and it is home to Nigeria’s two most popular hydroelectric power Dams namely Kainji Dam, and the Shiroro Dam.

Niger State covers an astonishing 95,363 square kilometres of land.

2. Borno State

The second largest state in Nigeria by Land mass is Borno state. Borno state is massive, almost as big as Niger state. Borno state was created in 1976 and in 1991, Yobe state was carved out of it. Borno state covers 92,893 square kilometres of land.

3. Taraba State

Taraba state was created in 1991 from the old Gongola state. While it is not as massive as the first two states on this list,it is still larger than most states in Nigeria and that is why it is third on this list behind only Niger and Borno states. Taraba state covers 54,473 square kilometres in land mass.

4. Kaduna State

Fourth on the list of the largest states in Nigeria is Kaduna state. Kaduna state isn’t as enormous as Taraba but it comes close. It is as big as 46,053 square kilometres.

Kaduna has a rich history.

Kaduna dates back to the start of British colonial rule in northern Nigeria where people who live in the area were called ‘Northern Nigerians.’ In 1967, these people were said to be living in the ‘North Central State.’ This status quo was maintained until 1975 when the former ‘Kaduna State’ was created by the then military leader, Gen. Murtala Mohammed.. 

The current Kaduna state is the successor of the old Northern Region of Nigeria, which had its capital at Kaduna which is now the home of over 6.3 million people.

Kaduna has been further divided on numerous occasions to create states like Katsina and others. It houses close to 63 different ethnic groups.

5. Bauchi State

Bauchi state completes this list and it is the fifth largest state in Nigeria by land mass. It covers 45,837 square kilometres.

Bauchi state was formed in 1976 when the former North-Eastern State was broken up by authorities. In 1996, it was further broken down and Gombe state was formed.

kikiotolu news ad placement full

Leave a Reply